Has Any Writers’ Organization Treated A Writer As Badly As SFWA Treated Mercedes Lackey?

Comrade Morlock
5 min readMay 25, 2022
Gage Skidmore, CC BY-SA 3.0

It reads like a revenge plot: an old writer comes to one of the most important conventions in her field to be honored for her lifetime of work, and is publicly humiliated without the opportunity to clarify what she meant when she confuses two similar terms.

The writer is the 72–year-old Mercedes Lackey. When SFWA (the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association) chose her to be the 38th Damon Knight Grand Master, they announced:

SFWA President Jeffe Kennedy had the following to say about the organization’s newest Grand Master, “From the time I read my first Mercedes Lackey book as a young woman, her stories have illuminated my imagination and brought joy to my life. With multi-layered fantasy worlds, canny magical systems, and characters who step off the page as living, breathing people, Lackey’s books have made an enormous impact on the genre. She gave me warrior women I could believe in, magic-wielding queer heroes, and characters who suffered, then overcame their physical and emotional traumas. Lackey continues to have a lasting influence on my own work and I’m beyond thrilled to see her honored as SFWA’s newest Grand Master.”

But while the conference was underway, SFWA issued this statement:

We learned yesterday…

--

--

Comrade Morlock

If you’re losing an argument with me and are too proud to admit defeat, please feel free to insult me instead.